The Five Seasons


  • Do you ever feel “stuck,” unable to move forward in life and relationships?
  • Do you seek more soulful relationships?
  • Are you searching for a joy-filled and vibrant life?
  •  Do you struggle with confusing emotional ups and downs?

Soul of the Seasons was written as a guide for those seeking a deeper connection to a more meaningful life. Through the wisdom of the natural world, and, based on the tradition of Five Element theory, one can learn to build more resilience and mastery, even in the most difficult passages of life.

Five Element theory, with its roots in Traditional Chinese Medicine, teaches that the fundamental elements of Wood, Fire, Earth, Metal, and Water correspond to the five seasons of Spring, Summer, Harvest, Fall, and Winter. These five passages resonate in our bodies through the core emotions of Anger, Joy, Sympathy, Grief, and Fear.  The five seasons are not defined as specific periods of time demarcated on the calendar but more as passages of life that reflect certain qualities of growth and movement.

Spring is associated with explosive new growth.  Summer is the time when our visions come into fruition.  Summer calls forth the abundance of the Harvest, the season which embodies the rewards of all our hard work. Harvest, in turn, leads to the season of Fall, the season of letting go. Fall then ushers in the silent cold of Winter, a season of rest and reflection.

Each season builds on and is informed by the others, comprising an elegant system of continuous movement and transformation that contributes to a state of balance and harmony.  By identifying what true balance looks like within each season, along with a clear picture of each season’s imbalances, we can learn to identify our strengths, while making subtle yet powerful corrections.

This pattern of gentle awareness and correction serves to build resilience and stamina when we need it the most. In turn, we can strengthen and deepen our personal relationships as well as our relationship with Mother Earth, moving through the seasons of life with more grace, resilience, and authenticity.


2 thoughts on “The Five Seasons

  1. Well done.
    “By identifying what true balance looks like within each season, along with a clear picture of our imbalances, we can learn to identify our strengths and make gentle yet powerful corrections that strengthen and deepen our relationships and our relationship with the earth.”
    Balance is a never-ending journey


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s